Pete Beach Award

At the NWOSSAA Annual General Meeting, every May, the Pete Beach Award is given to a deserving recipient based on the criteria outlined below. That being said the upcoming association rotation to give the Pete Beach Award is: 2020 SSSAA | 2021 NSSSAA | 2022: NorWOSSA

OFSAA Pete Beach Award Criteria
The Pete Beach Award is presented annually to one person in each association who exemplifies the qualities of Pete Beach, a former Executive Director of OFSAA. Pete dedicated his life to sport and to helping others achieve their full potential, not just as an athlete, but as a person.

A recipient of the Pete Beach Award should exemplify the same dedication, spirit and love of sport that made Pete Beach such a success in both his professional and private life. He worked tirelessly to help young people both within the school system and also within the community.

As the certificate states, “In view of the complexity of the developmental process, it is the rare educator indeed who has the capacity to utilize the medium of school sport in such a way as to positively and sufficiently influence students in the remainder of their lives. That educator is one who consistently provides an impression of stability and optimism; one who enjoys the company and respect of young people; one who embodies, and inculcates by example, the highest traditions of the sportsperson; one who best typifies the true function of the teach-coach – a source of discipline, a mentor and a friend.”

Past Pete Beach Award Recipients:
2023: Lauri McFarlane (SSSAA – St. Ignatius H.S.)
2022: Mike Lalonde (NorWOSSA – Dryden H.S.)
2020: Rob Murphy (SSSSA – St. Ignatius H.S.)
2019: Steve Poling (NorWOSSA Principal)
2018: Virginia McMillan (NSSSAA – Lake Superior H.S.)
2017: Harry Curtis (SSSAAA – Hammarskjold H.S.)
2016: George Lotsios (NorWOSSA – Ignace School)
2015: Phillipe Lacroix (NSSSAA)
2014: Brian McLeod (SSSAA)
2013: Dan Shankowsky (NorWOSSA)
2012: Karen Saarimaki (NSSSAA)
2011: Kathy Clouthier (SSSAA – Port Arthur C.I.)
2010: Jim Robertson (NorWOSSA)
2009: Ellen Jardine (NSSSAA – Chapleau H.S.
2008: Roger Bradford (SSSAA – Sir Winston Churchill C. & V.I.)
2005: Don Sutherland (SSSAA – Secretary – Hammarskjold H.S.)
2001: Rich Frank
2000: Ross Hryhorchuk
1999: George Paddington (SSSAA – Fort William C.I.)
1998: Ferg Penner
1997: Herb Mayr
1996: Reino Niemi
1995: Gerald Gannon
1994: Robert Kirkpatrick
1993: Lee Batstone
1992: Barry Hancock
1991: Terry Cooper
1990: Albert Slivinski
1989: Charlie Viddal
1988: Ron Haworth
1987: Ted Murphy
1986: Bobo Penner
Dan Walter
Judy Sellinger
Ian Simpson
Randy Klockars
Gord Brooks